Shoreline Wolves set to kick off Premier Basketball League season

The Shoreline Wolves have joined the Premier Basketball League for the 2022 season with the intention of continuing every year in the future.

Owner and trainer, Wesley Burton decided to found this team to help men in his community take steps towards their dreams that otherwise might never have found the opportunity to move forward. Aided by Coach Shonett Davis, the Shoreline Wolves are thrilled to kick off their season at 4 p.m. Saturday at Harbor Lights Middle School.

The Premier Basketball League is the first exclusive basketball league designed entirely for the ultimate fan experience in today’s modern world. It’s a new kind of basketball, where the fans come first, and the players and coaches are accessible to everyone. With unique league rules, national and international players can be enthusiastically followed from anywhere in the world, all from live streaming every game.

Additionally, these same league players and coaches are known for their community programs and support. The league is proud to be involved in the communities in which it plays and to give back as much as possible. Shore wolves are no exception. They practice and give back to the Boys & Girls Club of Holland. They also plan to host a charity basketball game during the month of April for Child Abuse Prevention Month in partnership with the Ottawa County Children’s Advocacy Center. They are always looking for new ways to give back and get involved in the community.

The list includes former Dutch player Demetrius Lake.

The Premier Basketball League (PBL) was founded in 2008 by Dr Sev Hrywnak. The league started with ten teams and the first commissioner was Kenny Smith. Smith was a point guard in the NBA and is currently an analyst at NBA on TNT. The league folded after the 2017 season.

In 2019 the rights to the PBL were acquired by Sixto Rosario and Albert Varacallo III and they relaunched the league for the 2020 season. The reformed league began play in January 2020 with four teams: Chautauqua Hurricane, Dubois Dream, Lancaster Thunder and Rochester Razorsharks. The season ended abruptly in March 2020 when the Covid-19 pandemic hit the United States.

— Contact sportswriter Dan D’Addona at Dan.D’[email protected] Follow him on Twitter @DanDAddona and Facebook @Holland Sentinel Sports.

Back To Top