LEVEL WAS WET: Erosion threatened a dike near Conway during recent flooding.

Governor Asa Hutchinson appointed the members of the working group which is due to report by the end of the year on monitor and maintain state dykes.

Dike ruptures – along with the inactivity of many dike panels – caused problems during the recent Arkansas River flooding. Is the response for the state to intervene to consolidate the systems built to protect and enhance the value of private land? We’ll see.

Members of the working group, which will meet first on Friday:

  • Jami cookChair
    Secretary, Ministry of Public Security
  • Tommy Earth
    Arkansas Land Commissioner
  • Wes ward
    Secretary, Department of Agriculture
  • Larry Walther
    Secretary, Department of Finance and Administration
  • Bruce Holland
    Director, Arkansas Natural Resources Commission
  • AJ Gary
    Director, Arkansas Department of Emergency Management
  • Deidre Smith
    Director, Arkansas Waterways Commission
  • Shelby johnson
    Director, Geographic Information Office
  • Senator Jason Rapert
    Appointment to the Senate
  • Senator Gary Stubblefield
    Appointment to the Senate
  • Representative Mary Bentley
    Meet at home
  • Representative David Hillman
    Meet at home
  • County Judge Mark Thone
    Yell County
  • County Judge Jeff Phillips
    Jackson County
  • County Judge Mack Ball
    Chicot County
  • County Clerk Pam Ennis
    County of Pope
  • Mayor Jimmy Witt
    Dardanelle – Yell County
  • Mayor Shirley Washington
    Pine Bluff – Jefferson County
  • Rob rash
    Council of St. Francis Levee
  • Mike lowe
    Miller County Representative
  • Tim ralston
    Representing the counties of Pope and Conway
  • Marty Shell
    Representing Sebastian and Crawford counties
  • Evan teague
    Engineer, Agricultural Office
  • Tommy bond
    Engineer, Pulaski County
  • Hal Kemp
    Lawyer, Pulaski County