Canadian men’s team kicks off wheelchair basketball campaign

  • Rio 2016 multi-medalist Tristen Chernove in pursuit of the velodrome
  • Paralympic medalists Katarina roxon and Nicolas-Guy Turbide at the swimming pool
  • Preliminaries continue in wheelchair rugby and goalball

TOKYO, 25 August 2021 / CNW / – After opening the Tokyo Paralympic Games 2020 with a solid performance from two podiums, Canada will search for more material on the second day. Canada will be represented in six sports on Thursday August 26, with medals awarded in para swimming, para-cycling and wheelchair fencing, and preliminary rounds continuing in wheelchair basketball, wheelchair rugby and goalball.

  • Two of from Canada The Rio 2016 medalists in the pool will hit the starting blocks for their first races of Tokyo 2020 – Paralympic Champion Katarina roxon (Kippens, NL) and bronze medalist Nicolas-Guy Turbide (Quebec City, QC). Both will compete in the same events in which they won those medals five years ago. Series for Turbide for men 100m backstroke S13 takes place at 10:38 JST / 9:38 p.m. ET (Wednesday) while Roxon will be among the women 100m breaststroke SB8 at 11:01 am JST / 10:01 p.m. ET (Wednesday). At the 2019 World Championships, Turbide and Roxon each clinched a silver medal in those races. The finals will start at 5:00 p.m. JST / 4 a.m. ET.
    Other swimmers from the Tokyo Aquatic Center are Matthew Cabraja (Brampton, ON), in the race for men 400m freestyle S11 heats up to 9:55 a.m. JST (8:55 p.m. ET Wednesday), his very first Paralympic appearance, and Jacques Leroux (Repentigny, QC), which is aimed directly at men 100m SB9 breaststroke final, which will take place at 6:38 p.m. JST / 5:38 a.m. ET.
  • After a close defeat in opening, from Canada The wheelchair rugby team are looking to secure their first group victory against their American rivals at 11:30 a.m. JST / 10:30 p.m. (Wednesday). United States were silver medalists at the last Paralympic Games.
  • Para-cyclist Tristen Chernove (Cranbrook, BC) takes part in the individual track pursuit, in which he won a silver medal five years ago. Triple medalist in Rio with one of each color, Chernove will play the C1 qualifiers at 10:30 JST / 9:30 p.m. ET (Wednesday).
  • Canada will assume Spain at his first game of the men’s wheelchair basketball tournament at 11:15 a.m. JST / 10:15 p.m. (Wednesday). silver medalists at Lima 2019 Parapan Am Games, Canada finished 11e at the Rio Games.
  • Canada will seek her first victory in women’s goalball after a first loss. The team continues the round robin against Israel at 8:30 p.m. JST / 7:30 a.m. ET.
  • In wheelchair fencing, it will be the épée tournament, with Canadians Pierre Mainville (Saint-Colomban, QC) and Ryan rousell (Saskatoon, SK) ready to see action in male categories A and B, respectively. The game of billiards begins at 9h00 JST / 8 p.m. ET (Wednesday).

FULL SCHEDULE

CLICK HERE for the full schedule of the Canadian Paralympic team on August 26.

HOW TO WATCH

Live and on-demand broadcasts are available at Paralympic.ca/Tokyo-2020/ live-stream-video-demand, cbc.ca/tokyo2020 and Radio-Canada.ca/jeux-paralympiques, the CBC Sports app for ios and Android devices, the free Gem of Radio-Canada streaming service and Sports application from Radio-Canada.

August 26 Canadian TV Shows:

Sportsnet One (CBC Late Night Replay) – 7:00 a.m.ET
Radio-Canada during the day – 3 p.m. local
CBC Primetime – 7:00 p.m. local
CBC Late at Night – 12:30 a.m. local (August 27)
Radio-Canada afternoon – 1 p.m. ET
Radio-Canada Nocturne – 11:05 p.m. ET

Click here for the full broadcast schedule.

MEDIA RESOURCES: Resources to cover Tokyo The 2020 Canadian Paralympic Team, including athlete bios, quick quotes, photos and video highlights, are available at Paralympic.ca/tokyo-2020-media.

To follow @CDNParalympics for the latest news

About the Canadian Paralympic Team: Canada is represented by 128 athletes competing in 18 sports at Tokyo Paralympic Games 2020, ongoing August 24 to September 5.

About the Canadian Paralympic Committee: Paralympic.ca

MEDIA CONTACTS

[LINK] LIST OF MEDIA CONTACTS BY SPORT
For interview requests with athletes during the Tokyo Paralympic Games 2020, please contact the sport specific press officer.

SOURCE Canadian Paralympic Committee (Sponsorships)

For further information: Nicole Watts, Manager, Public Relations, Canadian Paralympic Committee, [email protected] or 613-462-2700

Related links

http://paralympic.ca/

Back To Top